Delivering True Rock N' Roll Since 1974!
Image 1

ATHANOR - Flashback (70s psych w insert,rare pictures ,liners)180 gram LP

Calculated at checkout
  • Product Description

    Remastered sound from the original master tapes, insert with rare pictures and liner notes by Mark Breyer from cult psych-power pop band Skooshny, 180gr vinyl.

    Chicago, early 70s. Greg Herriges is obsessed with Lennon, 12-string guitars and far-out psychedelic sounds. Rick Vittenson is a Beach Boys-Hollies-Who fanatic who writes for Crawdaddy! magazine. Both had previously played in several garage-college bands during the 60s.

    Combining their mutual love for Sixties music, Athanor was born. With the help of top studio musicians, they recorded and self-released three 45s between 1973 and 1975 (the first one produced by Mark Breyer, with whom Rick had played in pre-Skooshny band Brevity) which are now highly sought-after by fans of obscure psychedelic pop.

    All of them are featured here in stellar sound taken from the master tapes along with previously unreleased studio tracks and superb sounding home demos (1973-1981), plus a new song recorded in 2006 in the same vein as their vintage recordings. Athanors music features impressive songwriting and musicianship, a collision of Beatlesque harmony vocals, Rickenbacker and Guild 12-string guitars, occasional fuzz-wah leads, Fender Rhodes, studio effects.Psychedelic proto-power pop highly recommended to anyone into Lazy Smoke, Badfinger, Only Ones, Emitt Rhodes, Rockin Horse, Creme Soda..


    A1 Graveyard  
    A2 Inner Space  
    A3 Urizen (Your Reason)  
    A4 I Don't Mind  
    A5 Habits  
    A6 Read Me  
    B1 Rock Me, Roll Me  
    B2 Hidden Monsters  
    B3 Memory (Don't Fail Me)  
    B4 Wonder Why I'm Sick  
    B5 Like A River Flows  
    B6 Inner Space (Previously Unreleased Mix)
  • Find Similar Products by Category