Delivering True Rock N' Roll Since 1974!
Image 1

DUKE, DORIS -I'm a Loser- with OBI STRIP, new liner notes by Swamp Dogg, remastered- CD

Calculated at checkout
  • Product Description

    DORIS DUKE I'm A Loser -2013 MASTERING!  

    - 180 GRAM LP  or Ltd Ed of 200 RED VINYL, both w/ poster insert plus  flier with new liner notes by Swamp Dogg & photos.
    - CD DIGIPAK w/ booklet AND  OBI STRIP  featuring previously unseen photos from the recording session, and brand new liner notes by Swamp Dogg.

    Originally released in 1969 on Canyon, this record is now considered by many to be the GREATEST DEEP SOUL ALBUM of all time. Our freshly REMASTERED CD DIGIPAK version features a BOOKLET with NEW LINER NOTES by producer Swamp Dogg, as well as RECENTLY UNEARTHED PHOTOS OF THE SESSION. The vinyl is a 180 GRAM pressing and includes a POSTER. This amazing album also features Duane Allman on guitar.

    A masterpiece of soul singing, song writing, and production. – FUNK MY SOUL

    Though considered the finest deep soul record of all time by no less than soul expert Dave Godin, "I'm a Loser" was rejected by dozens of labels before it finally surfaced on Wally Roker's Canyon label. Although the first single, "To the Other Woman," cracked Billboard's R&B Top Ten, Canyon soon spiraled into financial disaster, destroying the album's commercial momentum. – ALL MUSIC

    Doris had this great sad quality in delivering a song that could only be compared with Billie Holiday. You believe she has lived through every story on the album. – SWAMP DOGG

    1. He's Gone
    2. I Can't Do Without You
    3. Feet Start Walking
    4. Ghost Of Myself
    5. Your Best Friend
    6. The Feeling Is Right
    7. I Don't Care Anymore
    8. Congratulations Baby
    9. We're More Than Strangers
    10. Divorce Decree
    11. How Was I To Know You Cared
    12. To The Other Woman (I'm The Other Woman)

  • Find Similar Products by Category