Delivering True Rock N' Roll Since 1974!
Image 1

RAINMAN- ST 180 gram (70's Q-65 related W INSERT AND BONUS TRACKS)LP

Calculated at checkout
  • Product Description

    Original artwork with insert, but with two previously unreleased bonus tracks,

    How a guitarist of Q65 became the solo artist Rainman An unexpected incident can have far-reaching consequences. During a friendly game of soccer Frank Nuijens was kicked in such a brutal manner that he ended up with a double leg fracture. Musing on his hospital bed, amidst baskets of fruit and other tokens of attention, he realised that this might be an excellent opportunity to finish some songs, which had not found favour in the eyes of his mates from Q65. The songs did not have definitive lyrics, but Q65 drummer Jay Baar took care of that. The latter subsequently contacted most of the other musicians, the majority of whom arrived at the studio "high as a kite". Nuijens himself contacted guitarist Eelco Gelling and bass player Herman Deinum of Cuby + Blizzards. Due to contractual obligations, on the album cover they were named E. Stoffel and H. Staalmeester respectively. For a part, the production was carried out by ex-Blizzard Dick Beekman, at the time drummer with Livin Blues. The title track Rainman - sung as listlessly as the Dutch weather - provided the stage name, for a great part they took their inspiration from the music of Neil Young, John Lennon, James Taylor, the underground group Moby Grape and last but not least the compositional giant Tim Hardin. The only cover tune on the album was Hardins brilliant Dont Make Promises. 


    A1 Rainman  
    A2 The Natural Man  
    A3 Don't  
    A4 Vicious Circle  
    A5 Don't Make Promises  
    A6 You Will Be Freed By Me  
    A7 Clouds (Unreleased Demo)  
    B1 Money Means Nothing At All  
    B2 Get You To Come Through  
    B3 She Told Me So  
    B4 They Didn't Feel  
    B5 The Joy That Is Inside  
    B6 Money Means Nothing At All (First Version)
  • Find Similar Products by Category