ALEXANDER, WILLIE -TEST PRESSING-(70s member of The Lost, The Bagatelle and The Grass Menagerie, Velvet Underground) Solo Loco 1982-LP

12.00 (in)
0.15 (in)
12.00 (in)
Current Stock:
Adding to cart… The item has been added

OUT OF PRINT TItLE, these are the last of the release, in highly collectible TEST PRESSING FORM.

Test pressings are the white label copies issued to the record label in advance of the actual pressing , there are normally only 5 of these made. There are no jackets. Comes in a white sleeve with a sticker.

1981. Willie "Loco" Alexander (born 13 January 1943 in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania) is an American singer and keyboard player based in Gloucester, Massachusetts. He played with The Lost, The Bagatelle and The Grass Menagerie before becoming a member of The Velvet Underground in late 1971, joining fellow Grass Menagerie alumni Doug Yule and Walter Powers and replacing Sterling Morrison, who had gone off to pursue an academic career. With the Velvet Underground, Alexander toured England, Scotland and The Netherlands in support of then-current album Loaded. After completing the tour on November 21, 1971 in Groningen, the band planned to start recording a new album, but band manager Steve Sesnick sent all of the band but Yule home, presumably to retain maximum control of the product (the resulting album was Squeeze, released in 1973) and effectively ending Alexander's time with the band. After leaving The Velvet Underground, he enjoyed a chequered career, both solo and with his Boom Boom Band, that lasts to this day. In-between, Alexander teamed up with Powers to tour France in 1982 for French punk record label New Rose Records, in 1987 opening for Dramarama and in 2006 for a tour with the legendary Boom Boom band. In addition to his storied music career, in 1994, Willie narrated a local film entitled Middle Street made by fellow Gloucester native, independent filmmaker, Henry Ferrini. Willie has also contributed many songs to the soundtracks for Henry's other films.


A1 Are You Leaving  
A2 Eyes Are Crossed  
A3 Be Bop A Lula  
A4 Up For This  
A5 No Way Jose  
A6 Gin  
B1 It's All Over  
B2 Hit And Run  
B3 Take Me Away  
B4 Autre Chose  
B5 Tennessee Waltz  
B6 Small Town Medley