DEARLY BELOVED - Complete Recordings- LAST COPIES! (U.S. 60s Beatles-style pop) LP

12.00 (in)
0.15 (in)
12.00 (in)
Current Stock:
Adding to cart… The item has been added


Forming in 1963 as The Intruders and later known as The Quinstrells they became known as The Dearly Beloved in late '65 and were Tucson's most popular sixties band. Shortly after their name change Dan Gates, a DJ from a local radio station KTKT came along with the tape of a song called Peep Peep Pop Pop. The group were not at all keen at first but eventually he persuaded them to record it at the Audio Sound Recorders Studio in Phoenix and a record deal was negotiated with the New Mexico-based Boyd label. They got the band's name wrong on the label and the 45 was released in 1966 and credited to The Beloved Ones. It was a No. 1 hit in Tucson that year and held the No. 1 position for many weeks on KTKT radio. Consequent upon its success the 45 was leased to Columbia, who at least got the band's name right. With national distribution the 45 almost made Billboard's Top 100. Fuelled by their success the band headed to L.A. to record an album for Columbia. They recorded twenty songs in all in just three half day sessions. Unfortunately a car crash injured most of the members and killed one, thus ending any chance (and all agree it was a good one) for larger success.

The Voxx compilation is an excellent guide to their career with full liner notes by Lee Joseph. It contains all the band's better 45s and some of their unreleased recordings for Columbia. [7/82]-Greg Shaw



A1             –The Intruders (7)             Every Time It's You            

A2             –The Intruders (7)             Why Me            

A3             –Dearly Beloved             Keep It Moving            

A4             –Dearly Beloved             Bonus Track (KTKT Promo 1965)            

A5             –Dearly Beloved             Peep Peep Pop Pop            

A6             –Dearly Beloved             You Ain't Gonna Do What You Did To Him To Me            

A7             –Dearly Beloved             Wait Till The Mornin'            

A8             –Dearly Beloved             Iceman (Wild About My Loving)            

B1             –Dearly Beloved             Music Revolution            

B2             –Dearly Beloved             Strange Feeling            

B3             –Dearly Beloved             Take It Easy            

B4             –Dearly Beloved             It's All Over            

B5             –Dearly Beloved             I've Got A Girl            

B6             –Dearly Beloved             I'm Not Coming Back            

B7             –Dearly Beloved             Merry Go Round            

B8 –Dearly Beloved Flight 13