Delivering True Rock N' Roll Since 1974!
Image 1

FALCO TAV - LORE AND TESTAMENT Vol 11 -Sugar Ditch Revisited/ Shake Rag DBL CD

Calculated at checkout
  • Product Description

    Icludes a 32-page booklet featuring extensive liner notes by Tav Falco himself. Packaged in a special deluxe wraparound wallet sleeve. The Tav Falco & Panther Burns reissue/remaster series, part two.

    This one contains the Sugar Ditch Revisited EP (1985) and The Shake Rag EP (1986).

    Plus a previously-unreleased 11-song/45 minute live show from the Messepalast Vienna from 1989.

    Pristine recording by the ORF! Sugar Ditch Revisited -- a modest album with a huge cast of the crème of Memphis musicians joining Panther Burns. Jim Dickinson produced the record alongside Roland James, pioneer guitarist on the early Jerry Lee Lewis sides, twirling the knobs at the control board. This record featured two songs Dickinson had found on tapes discarded by Stax during the last days of the studio's existence. Sir Mac Rice an ex-Falcon penned "Tina, The Go Go Queen" and "Money Talks." For these numbers Andrew Love and Ben Cauley were brought in from the Memphis Horns to add that lush and signature lilt of the laid-back "Memphis sound." Alex Chilton played his new guitar -- a rusty Mosrite, the bassist Rene Coman came up from New Orleans for the sessions, Ross Johnson whipped the skins, and a bevy of girlfriends sang backing vocals. Shake Rag -- Panther Burns recorded this dark and lugubrious mini-album at the Sam Phillips Recording Service in Memphis in 1986. While this was the boom period for lavish alternative, new wave, and no wave music productions, there were only three stalwarts responsible for this record: Jim Dickinson producer, keyboardist, guitarist, Ross Johnson on percussion, and Tav Falco on guitar and voice. There is a raw primitivism howling from these tracks and an unbridled intensity not heard from the band in recorded form since their first record Behind the Magnolia Curtain. Live at Messepalast is a collection of songs cut from a wild and wooly two-hour show on Panther Burns' second tour of Europe in 1989. ORF (Austrian National Radio) was there recording the whole mess in ultra high-fidelity, and the result is what you will hear on this record.

    Two CDs in 12" replica sleeves, the live show is added to the Shake Rag EP. 


      Behind The Magnolia Curtain
    01 Come On Little Mama 2:15
    02 She's The One That Got It 2:28
    03 Hey High School Baby 3:01
    04 Brazil 3:55
    05 You're Undecided 2:32
    06 Ooee Baby 2:39
    07 River Of Love 3:32
    08 Snake Drive 3:09
    09 Blind Man 4:02
    10 Where The Rio De Rosa Flows 2:55
    11 Snatch It Back 2:23
    12 Bourgeois Blues 6:02
    13 St. Louis Blues 4:55
    14 Moving On Down The Line 2:19
      Blow Your Top
    01 I'm On This Rocket 2:44
    02 Pantherman 2:45
    03 Love Is My Business 2:18
    04 Bertha Lou 2:35


    30th Anniversary Deluxe Edition of mindblowing debut album (with Alex Chilton) plus follow-up EP
    Time Total: 0:56:29
    Double-CD in wallet sleeve contains two individual discs.
  • Find Similar Products by Category