LONDON DRI - Western Skies -LOS ANGELES PSYCH 1967-69 CD

5.00 (in)
0.34 (in)
5.00 (in)
Current Stock:
Adding to cart… The item has been added

London Dri had it all: From garage-rock to classic US psychedelia to UK styled Mod/psych. Finally here’s the band’s legacy—11 killer tracks in their distinctive London Dri style.

Detailed 8-page booklet with history by Mike Dugo & pics too.

London Dri entered Audio Sonic Sound Studio to record what would be their only 45-rpm single.  ‘Life in Your Hand’, an original song written by guitarist Bruce Thomas. Released on the Yobo label, the single represented the entire released output by the Los Angeles-based combo. Between their 1965 formation and their disbandment in 1970, however—amongst hundreds of performances and even a movie appearance—The London Dri recorded several other songs that, had they been released, would certainly have earned the group a more prominent standing today among Hollywood rock groups of the era. One of the most remarkable tracks doubtlessly is 'This Is Life,' practically the London Dri’s version of the Caretakers Of Deception’s legendary garage/psych classic 'X+Y= 13.' Others, such as 'The Other Side Of Soul' and 'Western Skies' are both melodic period west-coast rock pieces with excellent psychedelic guitar playing. 'Hurry,' 'Wanting To Know You' and 'Sorry' are all from The Misunderstood school of sound and show some clear shades of UK Freakbeat/Psych bands such as The Game, Mike Stuart Span or The Attack. The only cover version is an over 5-minute long rendition of Big Brother & The Holding Company’s 'Combinations.'



1 Life In Your Hand  
2 Dona, Dona  
3 Hurry  
4 The Other Side Of Soul  
5 Sorry  
6 Combination Of The Two  
7 This Is Life  
8 Western Skies  
9 Wanting To Know You  
10 Today  
11 Leave Me Alone