Delivering True Rock N' Roll Since 1974!
Image 1

ROTOMAGUS - The Sky Turns Red: Complete Anthology (1971 proto punk GATEFOLD DBL LP

Calculated at checkout
  • Product Description

    There’s no way to know why CBS Records unceremoniously dumped Rotomagus and the Chico Magnetic Band after one single apiece; suffice to say that decision was a poor one, as both bands have (quite rightly) developed a cult-like following over the years.

    All in all, the artistic trajectory of Rotomagus was peculiar: they started out as a harmony pop-psych band, shifted through a brief Jimi Hendrix-ian interlude (‘The Sky Turns Red’), straight into a Vanilla Fudge groove; they then went down in flames as a hair-raising monolithic heavy rock power trio.

    On Julian Cope’s excellent Head Heritage web-site, the Seth Man raves about Rotomagus thus: "The first time I heard this track (‘Fighting Cock’), I did not freak out. I merely walked into a nearby closet and screamed my head off for a minute solid, beat the floor and ripped my t-shirt… then I cowered when it hit me: this thing came out in 1971? Before “Raw Power”?! I just lost my mind…

    The only thing that predates this monster in terms of being a full-on amassing of all things heavy are all the many key points on Sir Lord Baltimore’s “Kingdom Come” LP and THAT’S it, brother." French magazine Rock & Folk was succinct: “Rotomagus create an emotional music, violent, even aggressive.” Violent. Aggressive. Intense. On this disc we bring you the entire output of Rotomagus, including an album-length demo from 1971, the band’s tumultuous, thunderous swansong, recorded as a super jam (live with no overdubs).

    Hard to believe this is all pre-1971, as much of the demo is not just proto punk but proto hardcore—with enough fiery attitude to make you want to scream along. The vocals are wild, while the guitar riffs and grinds and approaches a Stooges via Motorhead apocalyptic grandeur. Amazing!



      The Unreleased Demo
    A1 Laureline  
    A2 Little Green Man  
    A3 Fighting Cock  
    A4 The Sky Turns Red  
    B1 Runnin' For Life  
    B2 I Dig Life  
    B3 Shout Now  
    B4 Hello The Binaries  
    B5 The Flufluting Flatmul  
      The Singles:
    C1 Le Haut Du Pavé  
    C2 Nevada  
    C3 Eros  
    C4 Madame Wanda  
    D1 Fighting Cock  
    D2 The Sky Turns Red  
    D3 Laureline  
    D4 Porqoui Les Hommes
  • Find Similar Products by Category