MORGAN, SCOTT- ST (Sonics Rendezvous/ Rationals Detroit rock god)CD

5.00 (in)
0.25 (in)
5.00 (in)
Current Stock:
Adding to cart… The item has been added

The legendary Scott Morgan (Rationals, Sonic's Rendezvous Band, The Solution) has teamed up with some of Detroit's most highly regarded underground luminaries to make his definitive solo album.

Scott Morgan is a first rate rock singer, admired by everyone from Mitch Ryder to Nathaniel Mayer, from Rob Tyner to Iggy. Since his 70's stint in Sonic's Rendezvous Band, Scott has made a lot of great music with a variety of bands, a lot of loud motor city style stuff, and some straight up soul music as well, but this is his first proper solo outing. Scott Morgan, the album, is a point where Detroit soul tradition meets Ann Arbor music history in a blast of Downtown Detroit contemporary rockn'roll culture.

It is brought to you by the producers responsible for records by Nathaniel Mayer, The Go, The White Stripes, The Sights, Outrageous Cherry, and a whole lot of other good stuff!

While there’s no mistaking that this is a rock & roll album, it draws most of its strength from Morgan’s taste in R&B and soul: SAM COOKE (“Bring It On Home To Me”), NINA SIMONE (“Do I Move You,” given a psychedelic blues reading), JERRY BUTLER (“Since I Lost You Baby”), the FOUR TOPS (“Something About You”), the Motor City’s own EIGHTH DAY (“She’s Not Just Another Woman”), even BOBBIE GENTRY (“Mississippi Delta”). Morgan and his buds follow suit with originals like the bluesy “Lucy May,” the groovy “Memphis Time,” the funky “Summer Nights” and the soulful “Fallin’ For Ya.” The band dips into the straight power rock bag for “Highway,” the album’s only obvious nod to Morgan’s SRB work. - The Big Takeover


Beside him are Matthew Smith (piano, guitar, vocals), Chris Taylor (guitar, vocals), Dave Shettler (drums, vocals) and above all, on bass, former Dirtbombs and producer (The White Stripes, among others) Jim Diamond who recorded the album at his famous Ghetto Recorders.



1 Something About You 4:08
2 Fallin' For You 2:27
3 She's Not Just Another Woman 3:17
4 Summer Nights 3:06
5 Since I Lost My Baby 3:37
6 Lucy May 3:01
7 Mississippi Delta 4:46
8 Do I MoveYou 2:44
9 Memphis Time 3:17
10 Bring It On Home To Me 3:32
11 Highway 3:26