Delivering True Rock N' Roll Since 1974!
Image 1

WAVES OF FURY - Thirst- (Lou Reed, Iggy & The Stooges, New York Dolls style) LTD ED BLOOD RED vinyl! LP

Calculated at checkout
  • Product Description

    " Thirst " is the debut album from Somerset based Waves Of Fury. This 10 track long player sees Carter Sharp (vocals), Bim Williams (horns), Fil Ward (guitars/vocals), James Macphee (drums) and Jamie Bird (pianos/ vocals) take up the rhythm & blues blueprint and filter it through a 40+ year historical path that encompasses everything from Motown & Stax to The Stooges, Clah, Spiritualized & The Mary Chain. It's a sonic blast of an album, and a welcome breath of fresh air. Thirst was recorded at PJ Harvey's studio in Bristol.

    "Scuzzy proto-punk in the vein of Iggy Pop morphing into a Motown-beat driven garage track. Sounds like a mess; but this isn't impossibly cluttered, it's impossibly good. All bursts of horn and screeching vocals _ it sounds like a forgotten gem from the Ace Records catalogue, but it's brand new." _ Nicholas Burman /

    "They have found a way to reconcile their twin passions: Stooges and Stax, garage and soul, rock'n'roll's trash aesthetic and the exuberance and jubilation of old-style R&B."   The Guardian

    " Has a Rolling Stones swagger- it's like Steppenwolf jamming with The Commodores and is every bit as magnificent as that alliance should be." God Is In The

    " An unholy alliance of scowling, snarling vocals, sleazy guitar licks, Motown horns, and high octane percussion." The Mad Mackerel 

    "A full assault on the senses. Lou Reed, Iggy & The Stooges, the New York Dolls influences are clear. A sonic treat!"  Blast 1386

     "WOF really don't sound that much like anyone else. The closest comparison is probably to the jazzier numbers on The Clash's London Calling, but this is far, far weirder. Lead single "Businessman's Guide to Witchcraft" , manages to tie soulful piano and razor-edged horn stabs to raging, spitting vocals and noisy guitar - it sounds improbable and unpleasant, but, incredibly, it works wonders." The New Thing


    A1 Death Of A Vampire 4:06
    A2 I Don't Know What To Make Of Your Fucked Up Friends 2:30
    A3 Businessman's Guide To Witchcraft 3:21
    A4 Jellyroll 2:45
    A5 Killer Inside Me 2:42
    B1 These Things I Leave You 2:09
    B2 Pretender Soul 3:36
    B3 The Everlasting Thirst 2:30
    B4 Nervous Exhaustion 1:17
    B5 Viodrene 6:30
  • Product Videos

    • The Waves of Fury - "Businessman's Guide to Witchcraft" Alive Natural Sound (A BlankTV Premiere!) - The Waves of Fury - "Businessman's Gu...

    The Waves of Fury - "Businessman's Guide to Witchcraft" Alive Natural Sound (A BlankTV Premiere!) - The Waves of Fury - "Businessman's Guide to Witchcraft" - Like this video? Come see thousands more at the Net's biggest, uncensored, completely d.i.y. punk, hardcore, indie and alternative music video site,! We've got News, Games, Contests and the stuff that we can't show on YouTube! Free! Uncensored! Retarded!! *** Band Name: The Waves of Fury Song Title: Businessman's Guide To Witchcraft Album Title: Thirst Genre: Rock and Roll City/Country: Somerset, England Label Name: Alive Natural Sound Director Name: James Walker Director Link: Merch/Store Link: iTunes Link: Amazon Link: About The Video: The video was shot in a series of tunnels beneath a now defunct railway station in Bath, England. Rumour has it, there was a terrible accident at the station, causing it to be closed down forever... Until now! Band Bio: Formed in London in early 2011, the band played their first gig that spring at Ginglik in London, a converted public convenience.Since then they recorded their debut album at PJ Harvey's studio in Bristol and received attention from Artrocker Radio. A copy of the album was given by Artrocker to Alive in LA, who offered the band a deal. This song is the first single released from the album "Thirst". The band are currently playing gigs and tours in the UK. Who is who in the band: Carter Sharp (vocals, guitars), Jamie Bird (pianos, guitars), James MacPhee (drums), Lauren Garner (bass) and a horn section comprising of Sean McBride and Duncan Fraser. Band Links Website: Facebook: Twitter: LastFM: Label Links Website: Facebook: Soundcloud: Lyrics: Man how it's hard to face the thought she's gone. And we broke our routine, because of the rain, admiring ourselves, marred again, with blood on the floors, a scene I replay, again and again and again and again, Some days are better than others. *** Check out the BlankTV official website: Check out the new merch! Follow us on Twitter:!/blanktv Like us on Facebook: Thumbs Up, Comment and Subscribe!!
  • Find Similar Products by Category