WITCHES, THE - A Haunted Person's Guide To (GREAT psych) CD

5.00 (in)
0.25 (in)
5.00 (in)
Current Stock:
Adding to cart… The item has been added

"The best band that you never heard" of is a term that is commonly thrown around with much ado but in the case of The Witches it may well be true. Born in Detroit in 1996 from the mind of bass player Troy Gregory (Dirtbombs, Killing Joke) and with the help of fellow Michigan natives John Nash (Electric Six, LCD Soundsystem) on guitar, and producer Jim Diamond (White Stripes, Von Bondies) on electric twelve-string, The Witches went on to record five amazing albums between 1996 and 2006, with the help of a revolving line-up of Michigan musicians, before vanishing into thin air. "A Haunted Person's Guide To The Witches" compiles material from the band's five albums, and is a comprehensive introduction to the band's unique sound.

"A top-notch introduction to an underrated band." – Steve Wilson / Reverberations

"It’s a pleasant surprise that A Haunted Person’s Guide coheres like a proper album rather than a compilation." - Mark Deming / All Music Guide

"This is devilishly good music that should be filed on your shelf alongside the Soft Boys." – Alan Brown / Popmatters

"A Haunted Person’s Guide to the Witches makes a much stronger case for the Witches’ virtues than a journey through their catalog." – Michael Toland / The Big Takeover

"Though the songs are primarily constructed from the uncontrollable ravings of Troy Gregory's wildly creative and hyperactive imagination, the whole thing represents the point of view of a generation of midwestern outcasts raised on a weird diet of horror films, psychedelic kids' TV shows, glam rock, bubblegum music, Mad Magazine, and comic books. The Witches inhabit a psychic landscape where Mick Jagger, Bela Lugosi, William S. Burroughs, and Gumby walk side by side across the wasted ruins of the 20th Century." - Detroit Metro Times


1 Everyone The Greatest  
2 Down On Ugly Street  
3 Lost With The Real Gone  
4 Who Wants 2 Sleep With The Birthday Grrl  
5 People What's Wrong With U  
6 Spirit World Rising  
7 Why Do U Make Me Feel Like That  
8 The Haunted Regulars  
9 (She Got Some Kinda) Thing  
10 Attack Ov Thee Misfit Toyz  
11 Sleepin' On A Demons Tree  
12 Creepin' Thru Yer Galaxy