12.00 (in)
0.15 (in)
12.00 (in)
Current Stock:
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Their first in over ten years, The Barracudas is no nostalgia trip. For one thing, the engine room has been retooled, with new rhythm section Robert Coyne and Yan Quellien providing a backbeat of magisterial proportions. Coyne, however, will not stop at bass guitar, and also contributes a host of instruments, arranging and one remarkable song to add to the others written by Robin Wills and Jeremy Gluck. And fundamental to the resurrection, the return of former Flamin' Groovie and Barracuda Chris Wilson, returning in a guest star role with stunning vocals and a new song that nestles nicely in the 'cudas canon. Recorded largely at north London's renowned Cowshed Studio and a veritable living museum of prize gear, Berry Street Studios, and produced by Wills, this is the Barracudas album that not only fans but also the band themselves have been waiting for since "Drop Out", their legendary EMI debut launched them on a journey of sound that would take them from snotty surf punks to the new Groovies in a few years, then deposit them in no band's land until the CD surge and sundry attentions revived their fortunes.

As a cursory look at radio playlists and cult whisperings will attest, The Barracudas reappearance after so long could not be better timed. Garage music is in fashion (again) and so is surf (well, Brian Wilson, and let's face it they might as well be synonymous). Power pop, likewise, from a 45 grave, has risen to reassert its importance. Indeed, all the styles the band have mastered and made their own are now current and selling. And another thing: The Barracudas sounds younger than yesterday but with experience supplying an edge that cuts across time to the heart of the band.



A1 Poor White Trash 4:18
A2 What You Want Is What You Get 2:50
A3 I Believe In Everything 2:17
A4 The Price You Pay 2:43
A5 Something New 3:10
A6 Always On My Mind 2:58
A7 Don't Ever Say It Can't Be So 4:18
B1 Not That Kind 4:06
B2 A Little Imagination 3:12
B3 I Wish There Was A Time 2:13
B4 The Mirror 2:38
B5 Take A Walk 2:13
B6 Shipwrecked! 3:23
B7 Don't Let That Feeling Go 4:30