OPEN UP YOUR MIND - The Psych Pop World of Rembrandt Records 1966-1967- COMP CD

5.00 (in)
0.25 (in)
5.00 (in)
Current Stock:

Out of stock

Out of Stock

 Open Up Your Mind covers the first two incredible years of Rembrandt Records, a Chicago based label. The first release in March 1966 was a bluesy garage-band novelty record titled "Boots Are Made For Talkin ". It was a parody of Nancy Sinatras, smash hit at the time, "These Boots Are Made For Walking".

When the single failed to chart Rembrandt Records owner Reggie Weiss moved in a different direction, merging pop with psychedelic music, for the next single, "Open Up Your Mind". He wrote the song based on a LSD trip and response to the single was positive.

Soon other psych-pop singles were issued featuring The Circus, The Nickel Bag, and Mondays Children. Cash Box magazine began plugging Rembrandt Records during the fall of 1966. However, Weiss was unable to secure solid distribution and could not compete with the larger Chicago based record labels such as Dunwich, USA, and Destination. By 1967, Weiss devoted all of his time promoting a high-school band called The Lemon Drops. He wrote another LSD inspired song titled "I Live In The Springtime" for the band. Unfortunately, the single was unable to chart, even regionally. Over the ensuing decades though, the reputation of The Lemon Drops, The Nuchez, The Nite-Owls and other Rembrandt artists has grown immeasurably.

This compilation contains all the singles issued on Rembrandt Records from 1966-1967, plus many previously unreleased versions and mixes that are appearing for the first time ever. The twenty-two recordings on this album make it apparent that Rembrandt Records was way ahead of its time when these treasures from the psychedelic 60s were recorded.
1     –The Nuchez*     Open Up Your Mind     
2     –The Nickel Bag     The Woods     
3     –The Nite-Owls*     It's A Hassle     
4     –Monday's Children     Long Lost Friend     
5     –The Circus (3)     Sands Of Mind     
6     –The Circus (3)     Games We Play     
7     –The Lemon Drops     Listen Girl     
8     –The Lemon Drops     I Live In The Springtime     
9     –The Lemon Drops     Sometime Ago     
10     –The Nuchez*     Open Up Your Mind     
11     –The Nickel Bag     The Woods     
12     –The Nite-Owls*     Hassle     
13     –The Nite-Owls*     Hassle     
14     –The Nite-Owls*     Boots Are Made For Talkin'     
15     –The Nite-Owls*     Come On Back     
16     –The Nite-Owls*     Something You Got     
17     –The Nite-Owls*     Ooh Poo Pah Doo     
18     –The Nite-Owls*     Tomorrow     
19     –The Nuchez*     B.G.'s One Eye     
20     –The Nuchez*     Open Up Your Mind     
21     –The Nickel Bag     The Woods     
22     –The Circus (3)     Reservations Only-Noah